BACK to the store

Firefly Dragonfly EP (MP3)
SMMG 029 (2007)

Firefly Dragonfly EP (FLAC)
SMMG 029 FL (2007)

01. I Can See A Lot Of Life In You
02. Come Out The Wilderness MP3
03. There's Something Betweeen Us And He's Changing My Words
04. Send Me A Dragonfly

Released June 22, 2010.

Mini-album (4 tracks / 31 minutes). A year after resurfacing into memory with Detrola (Silver Mountain, 2006) and with eyes set firmly on the next step, XMMER, His Name Is Alive present four new songs, recorded in their living room in Livonia, Michigan.

Firefly Dragonfly is a laid-back, acoustic mannered pitstop for the quixotic North-American band. “Firefly Dragonfly” contains a warm atmosphere, an undiscovered guise of His Name Is Alive, an intimate side. Listening to this half hour unveils a single live recording session, the testimony of an encounter between Defever and a bunch of friends under the directive set by acoustic guitar and piano.

This mini-album opens softly with a cover of Sufjan Stevens' "The Dress Looks Nice On You" (baptized here as "I Can See A Lot Of Light In You"). It's an imagined vision of the Stevens original, imbued here by Andy FM's subtle accent, with much sparser & simpler arrangements, with no banjo. "Come Out The Wilderness" begins with what sounds like an acoustic variation of Neu!, lain over harp frills, to then evolve into reflection of a traditional folk song. "There's Something Between Us And He's changing My Words" appeared on “Home Is In Your Head” (4AD, 1991), His Name Is Alive's second record, and what was a studio experiment smoothly becomes a campfire song with Jessica Bailiff's vocals and under the cloak of a harmonium. It's a delicate song, with a feeling of uncertainty surrounding all of it, entangling each chord. After it, what was one day meant as a tribute to Alice Coltrane appears here in the form of a beautiful fourteen-minute duet between piano and harp, flowing freely until the end of the record.

The EP is available in both MP3 and lossless FLAC, along with the 2007 CD edition.

MP3 : $3.49
Add to Cart

FLAC : $4.49
Add to Cart

• All prices in U.S.A. Dollars

• Payments securely processed by PayPal

• All MP3s encoded at 192 kbps without any DRM

• Some items available in high quality lossless FLAC format and if you've already bought the MP3 version from us you can upgrade to the FLAC edition for $1.00 by sending us your email address and transaction ID from your original MP3 purchase PayPal receipt

• All albums packaged with printable sleeve art (PDF file) and enclosed within a zip file

• These items are mp3 downloads from this website and are NOT physical CDs that are shipped via the post office

• If you have any troubles downloading or have any questions, please contact us - we're here to help!