BACK to the store

Brown Rice
SMMG 015 (2004)

01. Brown Rice 1
02. Brown Rice 2
03. Brown Rice 3
04. Brown Rice 4 MP3
05. Brown Rice 5
06. Brown Rice 6
07. Brown Rice 7
08. Brown Rice 8
09. Brown Rice 9
10. Brown Rice 10
11. Brown Rice 11

Brown Rice, all instrumental except for some mixed-in recordings of baby talk, is mostly chaos, but it's chaos trying to organize itself. Celestial chimes and taps emerge from silence, cautiously trying to flow in the same direction; violins and saxophones eventually join them. A harp plays what could be the beginning of the Beach Boys' "Wouldn't It Be Nice," scrambled beyond recognition; once or twice, Defever's guitar can be heard paraphrasing "I Can't Feel at Home in This World Anymore."